MacClean.org

Before you get rid of your old iPhone or iPad, it is important to delete all your data unless you want someone to use it, of course. Remember that this action cannot be undone, so once you delete your account and Apple ID, all your data will be removed completely. You will not be able to reactivate it, so make sure you saved all pictures, documents, videos and other stuff you kept in iCloud.

After the account is deleted, you cannot receive calls or messages via FaceTime or iMessage, use such services as App Store, iBooks, iTunes or iMessage and see the appointments you scheduled. If you do not want to delete it but stop using for a while, the company recommends to deactivate it temporarily via Apple Support. But if you are certain, before deleting do the following:

  • Protect your data and review all subscriptions that are still active and save copies of all documents related to Apple info you might need;
  • make backups of your data kept in iCloud;
  • sign out of all Apple devices with this account to avoid problems with Apple ID – if your account is deleted, you cannot sign out of your Apple devices which may lead to problems with using your device in the future.

Now you can safely deactivate or delete your ID and account.

How to Deactivate Your Account

Open your browser and go to privacy.apple.com (you can do it on your Macbook Pro 2018, iPad or PC but not from iPhone). Write your Apple ID (point email and password) and press continue. Choose Deactivate your account and the reason from the menu and review all the things you should be aware of before you deactivate it. Select the way you want to receive the updates of account status and write down the unique access code that is required for contacting Apple Support.

SEE ALSO  How to Manually Offload and Reinstall Apps in iOS 11

Confirm the code by entering it and read the details once again before you deactivate your account. After that, Apple confirms that your request has been received and the process can take around a week (during this time your account will be still active). Done!

How to Delete Your Account

This is pretty the same like deactivating: open your browser and go to privacy.apple.com (again you can do it on your Mac, iPad or PC but not from iPhone). Write your Apple ID (point email and password), answer security questions if needed and press Continue. Pick Delete your account and the reason from the menu and review all the things you should be aware of before you delete your account. Select the way you want to receive the updates of account status and write down the unique access code that is required for contacting Apple Support.

Confirm the code by entering it and read the details once again before you delete your account (remember, you cannot reactivate it). After that, Apple confirms that your request has been received and the process can take around a week (during this time your account will be still active). Do not forget to log out of all your devices. Done!

How to Delete Your Account if You Don’t Have the Device

If you lost your device or no longer have it, you can still delete your account:

  • sign in to the iCloud.com on other device, choose your old device and press Erase > Remove from account;
  • if you cannot do that, change the password to your Apple ID which will prevent other people from removing your info from iCloud;
  • if you use Apple Pay option, remove your cards (credit or debit) – in settings you can see the devices using them and remove them.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Get latest news on your email, just fill the form below!